Preliminary Review Maps of New Seismic Hazard Zones

On October 4, 2018, the California Geological Survey (CGS) released Preliminary Review Maps of five new Seismic Hazard Zones to the cities of Antioch, Belmont, Brentwood, Burlingame, Concord, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Millbrae, Oakley, Pacifica, Pittsburg, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, the towns of Portola Valley and Woodside, and the counties of Contra Costa and San Mateo. These maps are released under the authority of the Seismic Hazards Mapping Act that was passed following the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake. The Seismic Hazards Mapping Act is a state law designed to reduce the hazards from soil liquefaction and landslides during an earthquake.

The Preliminary Review Maps and accompanying reports can be found here.

Review Comment Period

The October 4, 2018 release begins a 90-day comment period during which concerned jurisdictions, state agencies, and the public may submit comments to the State Mining and Geology Board for review and consideration.  Comments should be sent to the State Mining and Geology Board before January 2, 2019.  Comments should be addressed to:

    Jeffrey Schmidt, Executive Officer
    State Mining and Geology Board
    801 K Street, MS 20-15
    Sacramento, CA  95814
    (916) 322-1082

The State Mining and Geology Board will hold a public hearing during the 90-day comment period.  Specific hearing dates and locations will be provided as soon as available.