
§ 3697.  Fees Due and Delinquent 
(a) The annual reporting fee and Mining Operation Annual Report (MRRC-2) are due and 

payable to the Department of Conservation not later than July 1 for the prior reporting year, by the 
owner or operator of record on the preceding December 31. The initial reporting fee for a new surface 
mining operation, together with an initial report, are due and payable to the Department of 
Conservation not later than thirty (30) days after permit approval. An owner or operator of a surface 
mining operation submitting an annual reporting fee or annual report after July 1, or more than thirty 
(30) days after permit approval, shall be assessed a penalty fee and interest as provided in Public 
Resources Code Section 2207(c) and (d)(5). 

(b) Except as otherwise provided in (c), for the purposes of this article, surface mining 
operations are deemed to be discrete operations per each reclamation plan required. 

(c) Multiple site surface mining operations are deemed to be those active surface mining 
operations which meet all of the following criteria: 

(1) one or more surface mining operations are operated on one or more sites by a 
single operator or mining company; 

(2) the total annual combined mineral production for all sites is less than 100 troy 
ounces for precious metals, if precious metals are the primary mineral commodity produced, 
or less than 100,000 short tons if aggregate products/industrial minerals are the primary 
mineral commodity produced, or less than 1,000 pounds if base metals/other metals are the 
primary mineral commodity produced product is not precious metals; 

(3) all of the sites included are active no sites are reporting from the method of fee 
assessment set forth in Section 3698, sub-sections (b),(d), or (e) ; 

(4) all of the operator or company's entire active surface mining operations located 
in the State of California are tied to, or located on, the listed sites; and 
(d) In addition to the criteria provided in (c), multiple site mining operator's submittal of the 

annual report form (Mining Operation Annual Report, Form MRRC-2) shall be accompanied by a 
multiple site form (Multiple Site Single Fee Request, Form MRRC-4M) supplied by the Department 
of Conservation.  
 
Authority: Section 2207, Public Resources Code. Reference: Section 2207, Public Resources Code. 
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§ 3698. Fees Calculation. 
 
Annual reporting fees cited in sections 3698 and 3699 shall be adjusted for the cost of 
living as measured by the California Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers, 
calendar year averages, using the percentage change in the previous year, beginning 
with the 2005-2006 fiscal year and annually thereafter. 
 
(a) The annual reporting fee for a multiple site surface mining operation shall be 
calculated pursuant to the method of fee assessment set forth in paragraph (c) below 
and shall be based on the total combined amount of primary commodity produced as 
reported on the multiple site form required (MRRC-4M) by section 3697(d)four thousand 
dollars ($4,000). 
 
(b) The annual reporting fee for surface mining operations which are no longer in 
operation with no intent to resume, which had no mineral production in the reporting 
calendar year, and 
 
(1) which did not complete reclamation during the reporting calendar year shall be $100; 
or 
 
(2) which completed reclamation during the reporting calendar year shall be $100. Proof 
of completion of reclamation, approved by the lead agency, shall be submitted with this 
fee. 
 
(c) Except as otherwise provided, the annual reporting fee for surface mining operations 
shall be calculated on the total primary mineral commodity produced in the reporting 
calendar year. A factor to determine the amount of fee adjustments from one reporting 
calendar year to the next shall be calculated according to the following formula: 
 
[((AT RY) - (AT PY))/(AT PY)] = Factor 
 
Where: Adjusted Total (AT) equals the Amount Requested by the Director, less a 
projected amount from fees set in CCR §3698(a)(b)(d)(e) and CCR §3699, and less a 
projected amount from mine operations subject to the maximum fee amount in Public 
Resources Code, Section 2207of $4,000; 
 
Where: ATRY is the Adjusted Total for the current “Reporting Year” 
Where: ATPY is the Adjusted Total for the “Prior Year” 



 
The new Fee Amount for each category is determined by the following formulae 
(calculated amounts cannot be less than $100 or more than the maximum fee in Public 
Resources Code, Section 2207$4,000, as adjusted for the cost of living as measured by 
the California Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers, calendar year averages, 
using the percentage change in the previous year, beginning with the 2005-2006 fiscal 
year and annually thereafter, and may be rounded to the nearest $1 (one dollar)): 
 
Formula 1: Current Year Reporting Fee = Prior Year Reporting Fee times (1 + Factor) if 
Factor is positive; 
Formula 2: Current Year Reporting Fee = Prior Year Reporting Fee times (1 - Factor) if 
Factor is negative. 
 
(1) Mining Ooperations where the primary mineral commodity produced is either 
aggregate products or industrial minerals shall be assessed an annual reporting fee as 
follows: 

Tons Fee in Dollars 

0 - 100 Formula 1 or 2 (not less than $100) 

>100 - 1,000 Formula 1 or 2 

>1,000 - 10,000 Formula 1 or 2 

>10,000 - 50,000100,000 Formula 1 or 2 

>50,000 - 100,000 Formula 1 or 2 

>100,000 
 

>100,000 4,000Maximum fee per Public Resources 
Code Section 2207 

 

(2) Mining Ooperations where the primary mineral commodity produced is gold, silver, 
or precious metals shall be assessed an annual reporting fee as follows: 

Ounces Fee in Dollars 



0 - 1 Formula 1 or 2 (not less than $100) 

>1 - 10 Formula 1 or 2 

>10 - 50100 Formula 1 or 2 

>50100 - 1501,000 Formula 1 or 2 

>150 - 300 Formula 1 or 2 

>1,000 
 

>300 4,000Maximum fee per Public Resources Code 
Section 2207 

 

(3) Mining Ooperations where the primary mineral commodity produced is base metals 
or other metals shall be assessed an annual reporting fee as follows: 

Pounds Fee in Dollars 

0 - 10 Formula 1 or 2 (not less than $100) 

>10 - 100 Formula 1 or 2 

>100 - 1,000 Formula 1 or 2 

>1,000 - 10,000 Formula 1 or 2 

>10,000 - 20,000 Formula 1 or 2 

>10,000 
 

>20,000 4,000Maximum fee per Public Resources Code 
Section 2207 

 
(d) The initial reporting fee for surface mining operations shall be five hundred dollars 
($500). 
 



(e) The annual reporting fee for newly permitted surface mining operations which have 
not yet begun operations and disturbed the land shall be one hundred dollars ($100). 
(f) In addition to the annual reporting fees, the board shall collect five dollars ($5) per 
ounce of gold and ten cents ($0.10) per ounce of silver based on the amount of product 
mined within the state during the reporting year. 
 
Note: Authority cited: Section 2207, Public Resources Code. Reference: Section 2207, 
Public Resources Code. 
 



§ 3699.   Low Gross Exemptions 
(a) For the calendar reporting year, a single operator or mining company may file with the Division 

of Mine Reclamation of the Department of Conservation, a written request for an exemption from the 
method of fee assessment set forth in Section 3698. Neither the State, nor any county, city, district or other 
political subdivision shall be eligible for an exemption under this Section. A request for an exemption must 
be filed on a form (Low Gross Exemption Fee Request, Form MRRC-4L) supplied by the Department of 
Conservation and postmarked or received by the Department of Conservation by July 1 following the 
calendar reporting year. The Department of Conservation shall grant the exemption if information submitted 
and confirmed by the annual report form and approved reclamation plan, clearly demonstrates that the 
mining operation meets the following criteria: 

(1) material is extracted from one surface mining operation, and lead agency approval of a 
reclamation plan and financial assurance has been obtained; and 

(2) all of the single operator or mining company's surface mining operation located in the 
State of California is tied to, or located on, one site; and 

(3) the amount of the operator's gross income from the surface mining operation for the re- 
porting calendar year was less than $100,000182,900, adjusted annually for the cost of living as measured 
by the California Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers, calendar year averages, using the 
percentage change in the pervious year, and proof of gross income is supplied in the form of a signed federal 
tax return or returns accompanied by a complete and signed Federal Internal Revenue Service Form 4506, 
or a report prepared and signed by a certified public accountant or an enrolled agent; and  

(4) the owner or operator has submitted an annual reporting fee of four hundred dollars 
($400)one thousand dollars ($1,000) as adjusted for the cost of living as measured by the California 
Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers, calendar year averages, using the percentage change in the 
previous year, beginning with the 2005-2006except that the reporting fee shall be eight hundred dollars 
($800) in the 2018-19 fiscal year and annually thereafter. 

(b) For any request postmarked or received on or before July 1 following the reporting calendar 
year, the Department may afford the applicant one 30-day period in which to correct minor deficiencies in 
the application. 

(c) If the Department of Conservation determines that an exemption is not warranted, the operator 
may appeal that determination to the Board for any request postmarked or received by the Department on or 
before July 1 . The appeal must be submitted in writing within fifteen (15) days of the denial of exemption 
notification by the Department of Conservation. The Chairman of the Board or his designee (Board 
Member), shall determine whether the Board has jurisdiction for the purposes of an appeal. In order for the 
Board to have jurisdiction the appeal must: 

(1) Demonstrate the exemption request was complete and filed in a timely fashionpursuant to 
subsections (a) and (b) of this section; 

(2) Specifically relate to the exemption criteria outlined in this Section; and 
(3) Specify the appellant's arguments for granting the exemption. 

(d) If the appeal is within the Board's jurisdiction, the Board, based on all the evidence in the 
record, may affirm the Department's decision or grant the exemption. If the operator does not appeal, the 
appeal is not within the Board's jurisdiction, or the Board affirms the Department's decision, the operator or 
owner shall submit an annual reporting fee calculated upon the total mineral commodity produced pursuant 
to Section 3698. Such fee shall be submitted within thirty (30) days of notification by the Department 
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of Conservation or the Board. An operator or owner who fails to submit submitting anthe full annual 
reporting fee later thanwithin thirty (30) days after notification shall be assessed a penalty and interest 
as provided in Public Resources Code Section 2207(d)(5). 

 
Authority: Section 2207, Public Resources Code. Reference: Section 2207, Public Resources Code. 
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