JANUARY 8, 2014

Preliminary Review Maps of proposed new and revised Alquist-Priolo Earthquake Fault Zones were released on January 8, 2014 to Los Angeles County and the cities of Azusa, Bradbury, Duarte, Glendora, Irwindale, Los Angeles, Monrovia and West Hollywood by the California Geological Survey (CGS).  These maps are released under the authority of the Alquist-Priolo Earthquake Fault Zoning (AP) Act that was passed following the 1971 San Fernando earthquake.  The AP Act is a state law designed to reduce the hazard from surface fault rupture during an earthquake.

Earthquake Fault Zones are regulatory zones that encompass surface traces of active faults that have a potential for future surface fault rupture.  The index map shows the general location of maps delineating the proposed Earthquake Fault Zones within the affected areas of Los Angeles County. 

Review Comment Period

The January 8, 2014 release date begins a 90-day public comment period designed to provide the opportunity for the State Mining and Geology Board to receive technical review comments that may have a bearing on the proposed Earthquake Fault Zone maps.  Comments should be sent to the State Mining and Geology Board before April 8, 2014.  Comments should be addressed to:

    Stephen Testa, Executive Officer
    State Mining and Geology Board
    801 K Street, MS 20-15
    Sacramento, CA  95814
    (916) 322-1082

The State Mining and Geology Board will hold a public hearing near the end of the 90-day review period.  For more information on the date and location of the public hearing, contact the State Mining and Geology Board.